May 21 – Vitamins Galore

vitamins1I spent a lot of time doing research in the last week or so. I read the book “It Starts with the Egg” which gets rave reviews in my IVF Support group on Facebook. I can’t say I thought it was groundbreaking or anything. I have spent a lot of time researching vitamins and stuff so that information wasn’t exactly new. Also she mentioned vitamins to take but didn’t always say what dosage (I’m guessing to avoid being sued since she wasn’t a doctor per say). But what it did do was inspire me to start my own research.

Our main problem is male factor, which there seems to be little research on. That is kind of surprising since it accounts for a third of infertility. We are scheduled to see a urologist in July to see what, if anything, we can do to improve on that front. My hubby had surgery when he was a baby down there and we are pretty certain it is due to that. Probably scar tissue or something. We are hoping maybe they can do surgery to clear some of that out and maybe get better function. In the meantime I found some medical studies regarding vitamin impact on sperm count and mobility.

There is a study for this currently at select schools. The closest one to us is near San Francisco California at University of California. We asked if we could participate with monitoring here in Arizona. They said no. Oh well! Here is the information if anyone is interested to see if it is near them or if they qualify:

https://clinicaltrials.gov/ct2/show/NCT02421887

I read quite a few medical journal synopsizes this week and hunny agreed to take a lot of vitamins to see if between now and the appointment in July if the vitamin increases his count. It will be interesting to see. I am also taking a bunch of vitamins on the slim chance we win the grant we applied for (super long shot but can’t hurt).

Also we went back on the foster care list. It might be a while before we get a call but that’s ok. At least we are out there.

Yesterday was the hunny’s work’s company picnic. We went to a lake nearby and they rented jet skis and barbequed. It was pretty fun. The only down side was the fact that we are one of two couples without kids. And the other couple is 8 months pregnant right now. By the next company event we will be the only couple without kids. Another painful obvious reminder of how isolating infertility can be. It is such a family oriented event and the only upside to being kid free was that we could go out on the jet ski together and not worry about who was going to keep an eye on the kids. So that is the silver lining I suppose.

Lot of balls up in the air at the moment. Just waiting to see where everything lands. I also interviewed for a new job within my company so we shall see where that lands us also. They are not as flexible schedule wise so fostering might need to change (at least our age group). I think we are getting better at managing the unknowns in life, which I suppose is a good thing.

So here is to seeing where the chips fall!

Leave a Reply

