Aug 5 – HR Benefits Update

Well as you know I had previously submitted two well researched letters to my HR department in the hopes of getting them to consider adding infertility treatment benefits. Two days ago I received an email regarding a phone conference to discuss my request from someone different in HR. I looked up who it was with and it was the general partner for HR in charge of benefits. Holy Cow!

I was so nervous. She did not indicate the tone of the call. I checked with my boss’s boss to see what he thought and he seemed to think it was a good indication. I tried to relax.

She called me promptly at 9 am. She started with I don’t think this call is going to make you feel better… Uh oh.

She proceeds to tell me how basically unless there is a huge shift in demand for the coverage by the marketplace or if it becomes state law, then and only then will it be added. I tried to ask what else I could do to help them consider the coverage. She said there is nothing that I can do….

Nothing? There is nothing I can do.

She also adds insult to injury by saying that she doesn’t know what more she can say than what her colleague already said. Excuse me? So you agree with the highly insulting response that was sent to me before?

My boss’s boss checked in after the meeting and I let him know how the call went. He was upset for me. Upset with how it was handled. Upset with her telling me NOTHING will get them to consider adding the coverage. He said he was going to talk to his boss to see what else we could do.

I am devastated by this. A few other people have done the same thing I have at their company and got the coverage added. I don’t know what we are going to do now. We don’t have the means to pay for another round out of pocket right now, or even any time soon. With the 2 job changes this year and the extra vehicle payment we had to get, I don’t know if we can do this.

I thought maybe I was getting out of the fog but I feel thrown back in. I know people say God won’t give you more than you can handle, well it needs to fucking stop piling on. I can’t take much more. I will break. I already feel broken. I feel so much better about everything that has happened when we have a plan or goal to work toward. Right now, we have nothing.

Tear-Falling

2 thoughts on “Aug 5 – HR Benefits Update

  1. I am so sorry. Our insurance system is so messed up. My nurse told my husband that fertility is covered in Maryland! Just over the bridge from us. Meanwhile we are out $50,000 so far… not fair. Have you thought of moving to Maryland? Lol.

    Like

Leave a Reply

