Jan 27- Retrieval Day!

The night before the retrieval I felt like I had so much to do. I had to remove my nail polish, shower, do a medicated douche (that was a new one for me) and make sure everything was ready to just get up and go in the morning. There was the added pressure that my aunt was in the hospital across town. Once I was told she was in the ICU my mind was made up for me. The ICU at her hospital had staff changes from 6 to 8:30 so it would be impossible to get back to she her. We had to be in bed at 9:30 for our early morning appointment. Not to mention it was raining, in Phoenix. Rain in Phoenix is like a Nor’Easter to New England. Everyone loses the ability to drive and there are triple the car accidents. Add to that the extra traffic in town for the Superbowl and US Open and there was no way we were making it there and back. I had to remember I wasn’t being selfish. We have been working on this for over a month! Birth control, shots, appointments. The timing was set in stone. I can’t tell my ovaries to hold out another day. It doesn’t work that way. We did not go to the hospital, we stayed home. We relaxed, ate dinner, did all the necessary preparations and went to bed.

Surprisingly, I slept pretty well. I woke up a couple times and it took a bit to fall asleep but generally I wasn’t nervous. Until we got up! Our appointment was at 7 am and they wanted us there at 6:45. We live about 30-45 minutes from the clinic (depending on traffic). We got up early enough that we had an hour to get to the clinic. My first thought was, gee I hope there was no car accident that shut down the freeway. I thought, nah that’s crazy. That rarely happens. Don’t be such a worry wort. I got the doggies feed and let them out. Made sure not to put my contacts in and we got ready. My darling hubby had to drive because well I couldn’t see! The rain stopped but the road was still damp.

We hop on the highway and what is the first thing we see? A road sign that says “Highway closed ahead. See alternative route.” Are you kidding me?????? Turns out some idiot got on the highway going the wrong way and there was a fatal crash. Yup. I started to panic. Now my hubby drives a lot for work and knows the Valley like the back of his hand. Like a pro he navigates around it and we get back on the empty highway behind the accident. We ended up being almost 30 minutes early.

Ok, now I am really nervous. What if there aren’t any eggs? What is they are all immature? What if…. I try to relax. We headed in. They had me go to the restroom, change and then the sleep-inducing man came in. Asked about allergies and such. I signed a release (which I couldn’t read-no contacts). The doctor performing the retrieval comes in to introduce himself.  They walked me to the procedure room. It looks like an operating room with stirrups. I lay on the bed. They actually untie the gown which my hubby had tied up (so no one could see my bottom). Dignity? Yep, out the window.

The next part was the worst for me. They have to put the IV in. Me, with the tiny hiding veins. The doctor put it in my wrist! OUCH. Oh and he couldn’t place it just right so he was moving that long ass needle a bunch trying to get it in properly. Did I mention this way in my right hand? The one I use for everything. Son of a gun did that hurt. The doctor comes in and says the drug guy is going to give me a “margarita.” Whoosh, damn did I feel sleepy. They tried to get me to slide down the table and they were putting my feet in squishy stirrups. Black out.

I come to in a completely different bed, in a different room. The IVF coordinator and my hubby were there. Now I am trying really hard to focus on what she is saying but let’s just say a bunch was lost in translation. Thank goodness hubby was there. She printed out a schedule of pills, the transfer and blood beta (pregnancy) test. The final count for the eggs was 8. I was a little disappointed because I had about 14 follicles. She told me I had a new prescription to fill. Some follow up care instructions. Etc. Then I get dressed and get wheeled out to the car.

We decided to go to breakfast at a diner we like nearby. After that we hit Target for the new script and an electric heating pad. After that we went home. I took all the pills I missed and drank tons of water and Gatorade. I toughed it out with regular Tylenol. Yeah I was trying to be tough but by the end of the day I wished I had taken something stronger. Luckily I did not notice any symptoms of OHSS (Ovarian hyper stimulation syndrome).

On a personal front my aunt passed away at 8:30 the night before. My dad is flying out tomorrow. I am trying to stay focused on the process we are in, and not on the added stress of the week.

I can’t wait to get the call regarding how many eggs were fertilized with ICSI (a procedure where they inject the sperm directly into the egg to help fertilize them). Grow eggies grow! Our clinic almost always does a 3 day transfer. So assuming our eggies make it Friday will be the transfer! The pregnancy test will be Feb 11 if everything goes according to plan. More updates to follow!! And some MANY MANY pills….

pills

Leave a Reply

