Dec 6- Decorating for Christmas

This weekend I had my heart set on making the wreath for our front door, baking cookies and watching Christmas movies. My husband had to work so I knew I would have a little bit of time to kill. I played my Bing Crosby’s “White Christmas” cd (yes I know cds are so old school) and gathered all the decorations I bought to put together our wreath. A couple hours later it was complete. I was so thrilled with the outcome. Luckily my husband had a short work day so he got home just in time to see me putting my masterpiece on the door.

We decided to go get some lunch at our favorite weekend spot Chipotle and do our food shopping while we were out. We stopped by Lowe’s and got some C9 bulbs to decorate our house with. My hubby put them up and I got to baking. I made about 2 dozen snickerdoodles (a traditional New England cinnamon sugar cookie- despite the name it does not contain snickers candy bars), 3 dozen chocolate chips cookies and 2 dozen peanut butter chocolate chip cookies.

I love baking it is a huge part of who I am. After we got married my husband bought me the bridal edition Betty Crocker cookbook (as I did not grow up cooking and was a complete novice). I learned to bake and cook. Baking was a favorite of mine because when times were tight making several dozen cookies as snacks was much more cost effective than other things.

I decided to give some to the neighbors we were friendly with, along with their holiday cards. I text one of the neighbors to see if she was going to be home at some point in the evening for me to drop by and give her the cookies and card. She was complaining about me making cookies since she was trying to get in shape. Then she said “Why are you doing all that anyway, you don’t have kids.”

That was like a dagger. I felt numb and hurt. I took off my santa hat, my jingle bell earrings and my snowflake pin. I sat down on the couch next to my furbaby and a tear slide down my cheek. I know she didn’t mean it to be mean (or maybe she did), but it hurt. It still hurts, several hours later. Why can’t I bake holiday cookies if I don’t have kids? I just don’t understand why people think it is ok to say things like that.

4 thoughts on “Dec 6- Decorating for Christmas

    • Thank you TryTryAgain. I know it can be difficult for us infertiles, it just makes it harder when people don’t think before they say things. Especially when they know what we are going through. Hope you have a nice holiday as well.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

